Idealised sex vs real sex in erotic fiction

18 Feb

I realise that in saying I wanted to create ‘real erotica’ and then posting a fantasy about a judge spanking Rihanna and David LaChapelle in his chambers that I might, perhaps, be leaving myself open to accusations of hypocrisy. So spank me. It was fun to write.

But, I suppose I should really clarify myself and explain that what I was railing against was the idealised sex one often finds in erotica novels and short stories. It’s the sort of sex which is impossible because it’s so perfect–the simultaneous orgasms, the groomed couple, the sculpted bodies, the choreographed gymnastics. For me, reading that sort of story is like looking at a marble sculpture of a nude. I can appreciate the fine form, the artistry and construction of the piece (if there is any, but that’s another matter), but there is nothing erotic about it.

Each to their own taste of course. Some people like reading idealised sex. Perhaps it’s because real sex is so unsatisfying that they hope that somewhere there exists a lover who will fulfil all their fantasies in a blink. Perhaps they don’t read erotica to be turned on, but for a more charged version of romantic fiction. Perhaps I’m missing something.

Whatever the motivation, it doesn’t work for me, and I’ll tell you why: because I read erotic writing to get turned on, and I get turned on more when I read things that I can imagine happening to me. I have to admit that the Rihanna story felt a little forced, fnarr fnarr, because I didn’t think anyone would read it and get wet or get a hard-on–it was done to get a laugh. Yes, it’s erotica of a sort but not the oh-my-god-I’ve-got-to-find-someone-to-fuck-right-now erotica.

It’s a balance, of course. We read to be transported; who wants to read a detailed description of boring sex between two ugly people? Words on a page must idealise sex in some form, but I think the world’s had enough simultaneous orgasms to last at least until the next ice age.

 

Leave a Reply

